Where are you now? Where have you been…

A beautiful blur of a week at the end of March. One post with a few themes because life is too interesting and busy to actually work at this, which is why I’m just finishing up the post in April.

First, Houston

Some pretty good property tour action and a fun dinner with colleagues. But it’s Houston, so…ick.

Then, Philly

I did not want to do the Houston trip since I had tickets to the amazing Lone Bellow, and could not figure out how to get home in time for the show. I do not understand how there can be no mid-afternoon flights from Houston to Philly. But sitting in the airport twiddling my thumbs, I chanced upon a tweet from a LB fan asking for clarification of the show time because their website and the ticket seller site said 8:00 (what I thought) and the venue site said 9:00…and YIKES! 9:00 start! With a little luck and help from USAir I could make it back to Philly and zoom into the city and find Underground Arts, which is new and a mystery to me and YES! Ran in (down actually – it really is underground) just as they launched into Take My Love which of course means all is right with the world and this week is gonna be just fucking great.

IMG_6842 (1024x768)

This venue, another new place to go in the Eraserhood, is not a great place to see music since it is littered with enormous obstructions so sight lines pretty much suck from much of the room. But it’s got a cool, cavelike vibe. And it’s a block from Prohibition Taproom, so…yeah.

You’re the woods at night on fire…

The LB was amazing, giving props to Philly for helping launch their career (their first gig was here – a last minute open for the Civil Wars. I was not there) and to WXPN of course. They played something called Motown Philly, which is apparently a Boyz 2 Men song. Everyone knew it but me. Other Boyz 2 Men stuff too. All fun, this band has a sense of humor. The best thing is I will see them again, very soon…

Then we take Manhattan

IR conference. Learned a few things. Mostly talked, because that’s what I do. Down to the stock exchange for a reception before the IR Magazine awards dinner (which I’m not going to. Nobody wants to give me an award, waaahhhhh).

IMG_6884 (1024x768)

And they actually pull my name out of a jar to be on the closing bell podium with some of my fellow IR officers. Gotta admit this was pretty cool. The folks in evening clothes were going to the dinner.

IMG_3150 (800x480) (800x480)

Never been up in the balcony before. This is the view of the CNBC folks getting ready to do the closing show.

IMG_6892 (1024x768)

Be there soon…on the L Train to Williamsburg…(wrong band, but who cares)

But on to more important things. Subway from Wall Street to Union Square. L-train to Williamsburg. It’s 55 degrees. People are playing baseball in McCarren Park. Check into my Brooklyn digs. The nice young folks welcome me back and make me feel all happy. Out of that damned suit and into a concert dress and boots. Out the door.  Down to the Cuban place next to Music Hall. Mojito. My buddy Bob calls and is actually early, will be here in a few minutes. Doesn’t know this place any more – hasn’t spent much time here since he worked in the Koch administration. More Mojito and good food. Lovely walkabout and talk before the show. It’s still 50 degrees.

IMG_6922 (1024x768)

And then, it’s on. Lone Bellow. Again. In their native habitat. Tree to grow, to let you know, my love is older than my soul.

IMG_6941 (1024x768)

I could see this band twice every week. Bob is gobsmacked. I am happy. After this we sing karaoke in a bar until 1:00. Not sure why the DJ took one look at us middle-aged straight people and decided Billy Idol was the thing, but hey. In the midnight hour, we cried more, more, more. 

Then came the morning

The next day I wake up at 8:30 (somehow Bob had texted me at 7:30 – I am really impressed – how is it possible to be awake that early after that late night – later for him since he had to go all the way home to Jersey and was probably still in the cab when I was already sound asleep – dude is hardier than me for sure I got to work at this) work in the hotel sky lounge all day while nice people bring me loads of coffee and later food. Overall it’s been a lovely stay in Brooklyn, so I’m making it Number 6 of My 52 Places. Home on the 6:00 train. If only every week could be this.

It’s alright, it’s alright…

This entry was posted in 52 Places to Go, General ramblings, Music, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment