Obligatory election post

I haven’t written anything for this site for over a year, for a variety of reasons including being tired of writing. But it’s 4:30 in the morning of this most insane day, and who can sleep.

In a few hours I will hold my nose and vote for a woman who represents the worst of machine politics, a system that produces grasping, entitled, and enabled pocket-liners, a candidate foisted on voters by my party over more experienced and deserving competition. I’ll vote for her because she will vote in line with my interests and defend my rights as a woman, and, I hope, in line with my policy views more of the time than less. That’s why politics sucks – it means sometimes we have to vote for the likes of Katie McGinty for senate.

So I sympathize with Republicans who may be feeling caught in the same trap. But there really is no equivalence.

The Democratic presidential nominee is, indeed, a product of that same hated political machine, and therefore comes with the smell of unearned privilege. She is flawed but capable, prepared, and would take very seriously the responsibilities that go with the mantle of first woman president.

The scrutiny this woman has had to endure is mind-boggling, and the worst it has turned up seems to be she’s got a sleazy husband (I’ll give you that), she’s made a little too much money in 16 years (agreed-too much to be likeably humble, but not too much to be honest), she’s too cozy with Wall Street (maybe), she made a dumb-in-hindsight decision about her email server, and she’s got connections like any politician.

The Republican nominee is a cartoon character of willful ignorance and outlandish pomposity coupled with terrifying neediness, rampant dishonesty, disgusting vulgarity…the list is too long. He is not America, he is a parody of the worst of America.

My alarm is about to go off. Please, America, may we sleep in peace tonight.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment